The British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP)
Inspiring and informing underwater photographers since 1967

© Images and articles on this website are the copyright of the photographers and authors.





About BSoUP : Code of Conduct : Competitions : Constitution : Contact us : Courses
Cover shots : Directions : Glossary : HistoryMagazine : Meetings : Members websites
: Privacy Policy : Programme : Site Index

BSoUP's Sponsors

Kungkungan Bay Resort

SS Thistlegorm

Winning Imaes by Paul Colley


Brtish Divers Marine Life Rescue - Sponsors of BSoUP / DIVER Print Competition 2017



Mike's No 1 Dive Cameras

O'Three - Sponsor of the BIUPC 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018

Underwater World Stony Cove

Diver Magazine - Sponsor of the Annual Beginners Portfolio Competition and the BSoUP/DIVER Print Competition

DiveQuest - Sponsor of the Underwater Excellence

BSoUP Open Portfolio Competition 2010

For the DIVE Magazine Trophy

Third: Tony Baskeyfield

Tony Baskeyfield

My open Portfolio 2010

by Tony Baskeyfield

I never seem to do well in portfolio competitions, so I decided to come up with a different presentation to the way I usually present. My theme was to have all the images moving at 45 degrees with a blue/yellow colour throughout. I chose a selection of wide angle, macro and with diver shots to drew your eye to the centre image to the amusing face of the blenny with the turtle overlaid to bring in a 3rd dimension to the 5 framed images. I shoot all my images in jpeg with minimal adjustments in photoshop. I try to get all my setting right in the camera.

Top left: Spinner Dolphins - Wadi Lahami, Red Sea . From a shore dive with a zodiac. I spent 2 hours snorkeling in the water and had the inflatable to myself with two others, so I was able to get really close and see some great interactions with the dolphins. They had only one thing on their minds - mating. Then I got a great sequence of these two with a third also trying to get in on the action. The whole experience was done on the move as the pod passed us by and lasted 30 seconds. Shot with my Fuji S2 pro with 16mm. This is the cover shot of Red Sea Blue Magazine

Top centre: Green Turtle - Kerudo Maldives- There were so many turtles on this dive I was able to get really close with my D300 and 10.5mm fisheye.

Top right: Manta - Hanifaru Maldives. There were so many mantas I was able to get the classic and iconic delta shape of the manta. Taken on Nikon D300 with 16mm.

Bottom left: Cave with diver - Desroches Island Seychelles. When I saw the cave the shot was good, then it improved as a shoal of blue lined snapper swam through, finally my wife Cheryl got in too. Shot with my D300 and 10.5 fisheye and 2 Sea and Sea Alphas. This is was used on the contents page in Dive Magazine

Bottom centre : Coral Blenny - Desroches Island Seychelles. Taken with D300 and 60mm and 2 Sea and Sea Alphas.

Bottom right : Dorado caught on rod and line - Desroches Island. I had a once in a lifetime opportunity to dive whist the resident expert fisherman fished on an adrift FAD he had found 10 miles off the island. To get this shot I waited till he hooked the Dorado and played it to me under the boat. I sent my images to Sea Angler magazine and made 5 page story. Shot on Nikon D300 with two Sea and Sea Alphas and 10.5 mm fisheye.

Tony is based in Deeping St James in Lincolnshire where he works as a Graphic Desiger and Photographer. He has just produced a book for David Rowat on Whale Sharks. Tony travels extensively for his underwater photography and is going to Antarctica in February to chase penguins, leopard seals and Ice burgs.

BSoUP's Open Portfolio Competition Winners 1984-

2017 Mark Drayton

2016 Taner Altigan

2015 Cathy Lewis

2014 Mark Drayton

2013 Jackie Campbell

2012 Mark Pickford

2011 Dray van Beeck

2010 Giordano Cipriani

2009 Trevor Rees

2008 JP Trenque

2007 Shannon Conway

2006 Steve Jones

2005 Jane Morgan

2004 Alex Mustard

2003 Charles Hood

2002 Linda Dunk

2001 Tony White

2000 Gary Clark

1999 Guy Middleton

1998 Hilary Driscoll

1997 Malcolm Hey

1996 Linda Dunk

1995 Linda Dunk

1994 Linda Dunk

1993 Linda Pitkin

1992 Charles Hood

1991 Georgette Douwma

1990 Mike Wong

1989 Mike Wong

1988 Mike Wong

1987 Georgette Douwma

1986 Georgette Douwma

1985 Warren Williams

1984 Georgette Douwma

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

Top of page